Trim Poetry Competition 2019

Competition Rules

This competition is now closed. A shortlist will be posted on the blog at the end of February.

This competition opens for entries on 1 January 2019 and closes on 7 February 2019.

Entries are only accepted online by email to this address:

Competitors pay by PayPal on this blog on the right. Entry fee: one poem for 5 euro, three poems for 10 euro.

The poem/poems to be entered must be sent as a single attachment. The body of the email must include the PayPal transaction number, the entrant's name, address, phone number, and title/titles of the entered poems.

The poems should be in Times New Roman, 12 point, single spacing and must not exceed 60 lines (excluding title and stanza breaks). The name of the entrant must not appear on the poems themselves. All poems must be the original work of the entrant, written in English. Poems must not have been previously published, self-published or published on a website, or broadcast. Entrants must be 18 years or over.

All poems are judged completely anonymously, and judges read all entries. The judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence can be entered into regarding those decisions. Current members of Boyne Writers Group are not eligible to enter.

The judges are: Orla Fay, editor of Boyne Berries, and Michael Farry, former editor of Boyne Berries.

The judges’ shortlist of ten will be announced towards the end of February 2019 and included on this blog. Shortlisted poets only will be notified by email and invited to read their poems at Trim Poetry Festival, Co. Meath, Ireland, which will take place 15 - 16 March 2019. 

The prize for the winner is 500 euro. The prize-winner of the competition will be announced during the festival. The winner and the other short-listed poems may be published in the next issue of Boyne Berries.

Copyright will remain with the competitor, but Trim Poetry Festival reserves the right to arrange publication on the website.

Submission of a poem implies the competitor’s acceptance of the conditions set out above.

No comments:

Post a Comment